What is Oregat

Oregat is the name of a Canadian website that informs people about the Canadian GED test.

In  Canada, the GED® test includes five independent, modular subtests that contain mostly multiple-choice questions. Only the essay part is in writing.

The test measures a candidate’s knowledge and analytical skills in the five academic subject fields of Science, Social Studies, Mathematics, Language Arts Reading, and Language Arts Writing.

The website Oregat offers tons of information about GED testing in Canada by province or territory and lists GED testing centers as well. Regulations vary slightly by province, and age qualification requirements vary slightly as well, as does the price.

The subtests are timed exams. In Canada, the subtests must be completed within these timeframes:

  • Science: 80 minutes
  • Social Studies – 70 minutes
  • Mathematics: 90 minutes
  • Language Arts Reading: 65 minutes
  • Language Writing: Part 1, 75 min; Part 2 (essay), 45 min

The GED exam gives individuals who didn’t complete their high school curriculum the opportunity to earn a certificate that has the same value as a common Canadian high school diploma.

The GED exam assesses knowledge at a level comparable to that of high school seniors upon graduation.

Qualification requirements

To qualify for the Canadian GED exam, candidates must:

  • Be Canadian residents
  • In general, be 18 years old or older, though age requirements vary by province (see below)
  • Be officially withdrawn from the Canadian public school system
  • Not already hold a high school or equivalent diploma
  • Be residents in some provinces

In Canada, GED candidates must be 19 or older in Newfoundland & Labrador, New Brunswick, Nunavut, and Manitoba.

Candidates must be at least 18 in Alberta, British Columbia, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan, and Yukon.

In Quebec, GED candidates are required to be at least 16 years of age.